Kristiina v2

Festival Visioon is a musical walk into the future and is primarily intended for young people who like improvisational and jazz music. The festival was initiated in 2003 at the Saue Music School, when a pop-jazz department led by Iljo Toming, was opened. Young jazz and rhythm music students from smaller music schools will participate in the festival as well as advanced artists. Our lõng tradition is that soloists, bands and Big Bands from other countries like Finland, Latvia, Sweden and England would like to participate each year. Workshops and Jam Sessions would be taking place. On average, 140 young musicians participate in the festival. The festival has no age limit. An important part of the festival is the cooperation
between young and experienced musicians whose striking lead inspires youngsters to make more effort, practice more and discover music more deeply. Recognized musicians from different countries have attended the festival like Eric Marienthal, David Kikoski, Jukkis Uotila, Dean Brown, Kristof Zavadzski, Jens Chapper Jensen, Nick Smart, Georgi Kontraforius, Jussi Lehtonen, Sami Linna, Manuel Dunkel, Zoltan Lanos, Indrikis Veitners, Wagner Barbosa, Thais Morell, José Torres, Zoltan Orosz, Anthony Branker, Jussi Lehtonen. As well Estonian stars like Kristjan Randalu, Jaak Sooäär, Kadri Voorand, Mihkel Mälgand,Raivo Tafenau, Siim Aimla, Mairo Marjamaa, Raul Sööt, Holger Marjamaa, Aleksander Paal and many others.

The festival's centrepiece is the International Youth Big Band project. Conductors include
internationally recognized conductors, pedagogues, musicians such as Jukkis Uotila -
conductor and professor of Sibelius Academy, Nick Smart - trumpet player, Royal London
Academy of Music London, Jens Christian "Chappe" Jensen - musician, composer, lecturer at
Arhus Music Academy, Rasmus Soini - Ebeli Youth Big Band, Finland, Siim Aimla - Big
Band leader, Georg Ots Music School, Estonia.
Many of the young people who have come up for the first time in Visioon have become top
musicians and educators, representing Estonia in international competitions and festivals.